Parliamentary Boundaries Consultation

The final consultation for The Boundary Commission for England’s proposals to change the number Parliamentary constituencies is open until 11 December 2017. It is part of a process to reduce the number of UK constituencies from 650 to 600 while keeping the number of electors roughly the same. The proposals will see the end of the Parliamentary constituency of Wealden, to be replaced by a new constituency of Crowborough and Tunbridge Wells. Uckfield and Hailsham join Lewes Constituency along with Polegate while Heathfield and Pevensey remain in Bexhill and Battle. The new constituency proposals can be seen on the Boundary Commission’s website where you can also add your comments. Responses to the original proposals, which came out in September 2016, can also be seen on the Boundary Commission’s website. Taking account of the second consultation, the Commission will then publish a final report, including any modifications, in September 2018. It will then be up to Parliament and the Government to decide on implementation.